Dhaka division


Dhaka is the capital of Bangladesh. It is the principal city of Dhaka District and Dhaka Division. The Dhaka Metropolitan Area is the 11th largest city proper in the world, with a population of 12 million people. The Greater Dhaka Area covers a population of 17 million people.

The historic quarter of Dhaka stands on the east bank of the Buriganga River. It is located in the central part of the Bengal delta. Bengali Muslims make up the majority of the population, followed by Bengali Hindu, Buddhist, Bengali Christian and Bahai Faith communities.

Dhaka is located in central Bangladesh at 23°42′N 90°22′E, on the eastern banks of the Buriganga River. The city lies on the lower reaches of the Ganges Delta and covers a total area of 300 square kilometres (120 sq mi). It consists of 49 thanas – Lalbagh, Kotwali, Hazaribagh, Sutrapur, Ramna, Motijheel, Paltan, Dhanmondi, Mohammadpur, Tejgaon, Gulshan, Mirpur, Pallabi, Shah Ali, Turaag, Sabujbagh, Dhaka Cantonment, Demra, Shyampur, Badda, Kafrul, Kamrangir char, Khilgaon, Uttara etc.

In total the city has 130 wards and 725 mohallas. Dhaka District has an area of 1,463.60 square kilometres (565 sq mi) with a population of 18,305,671 in 2012; and is bounded by the districts of Gazipur, Tangail, Munshiganj, Rajbari, Narayanganj, Manikganj. Tropical vegetation and moist soils characterize the land, which is flat and close to sea level. This leaves Dhaka susceptible to flooding during the monsoon seasons owing to heavy rainfall and cyclones.

There are many parks within Dhaka city, including Ramna Park, Suhrawardy Udyan, Shishu Park, National Botanical Garden, Baldha Garden, Chandrima Uddan, Gulshan Park and Dhaka Zoo. There are lakes within city, such as Crescent lake, Dhanmondi lake, Baridhara-Gulshan lake, Banani lake, Uttara lake and Hatirjheel-Begunbari lake.

As the capital of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh, Dhaka is home to numerous state and diplomatic institutions. The Bangabhaban is the official residence and workplace of the President of Bangladesh, who is the ceremonial head of state under the constitution. The National Parliament House is located in the modernist capital complex designed by Louis Kahn in Sher-e-Bangla Nagar.

The Gonobhaban, the official residence of the Prime Minister, is situated on the north side of Parliament. The Prime Minister’s Office is located in Tejgaon. Most ministries of the Government of Bangladesh are housed in the Bangladesh Secretariat. The Supreme Court, the Dhaka High Court and the Foreign Ministry are located in the Ramna area. The Defence Ministry and the Bangladesh Armed Forces headquarters are located in Dhaka Cantonment.

Source | wiki

What to see

  • Ahsan Manzil, Shadarghat
  • Lalbagh Fort, Lalbagh
  • Central Shahid Minar, Secretariate Rd
  • Bangladesh national museum, Shahbag
  • Liberation War museum, Shegunbagicha
  • Bangabandhu Memorial Museum, Dhanmondi 32, Road 12
  • Ramna Children’s Park, Shahbag
  • Science museum, Shahid Shahabuddin Shorok
  • National Poet’s Graveyard, Adjacent to the mosque of the University of Dhaka
  • Suhrawardy Uddyan, Shahbag
  • Banga Bhaban, Gulistan
  • Parliament House, Mohammadpur
  • Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Novo Theatre, Bijoy Sarani
  • National Zoo, Mirpur

Districts of Dhaka

Last update- october 2015
District Population (thds) Area (km.) Density
Dhaka 12518 1464 8111
Faridpur 1989 2073 901
Gazipur 3548 1800 1852
Gopalganj 1218 1490 771
Kishoreganj 3029 2689 1061
Madaripur 1212 1145 1004
Manikganj 1447 1379 1000
Munshiganj 1503 955 1487
Narayanganj 3074 759 4139
Narsingdi 2315 1141 1930
Rajbari 1091 1119 929
Shariatpur 1202 1182 970
Tangail 3750 3414 1046